Roger Dean’s Art and the Music from Yes

An artist having made a  major impact on me as a kid was Roger Dean. I first noticed his art in the unlikely location of a record store. Dean created art on record album sleeves. I believe it was the combination of the lyricist Jon Anderson with the  synthesis of the organic styled music from the alternative Rock group Yes,when combined with Roger Deans

painted  dreamworld that allowed my imagination to travel and explore. This is  probably the foundation that filled me with the desire and drive to be in  art school today.   Dean  painted album covers which in those days were 12″ x 12″  and were made to be viewed while seated,  listening to the music. The painted art made  for powerful connections when combined with music or even the reading of  the  printed poetic lyrics.

Dean was trained at the Royal Academy of Art in London to design furniture.  He really didn’t have any desire to do album covers until he was approached in the early 70’s by a local music group.   That  work became so popular that  the invitations continued coming.  He reached  a peak in that popularity  when he signed with  the musical rock group, “Yes.”  In the early days both Dean and Yes would create their own art independently without knowing what each were doing.  With the combination of this painted work and music,  magic was created.  I believe most people who have seen Deans work saw it first on a Yes record sleeve .  Dean  has slowed down his painting career lately and is now concentrating  on designing alternative cities based on his organic style and vision.  He has also designed video games.

I have attached a montage of Deans works combined with the music of Yes.

Comments
2 Responses to “Roger Dean’s Art and the Music from Yes”
  1. As a Theosophist I can really respect the art work of Roger Dean and the work he has done for YES all down through the eons of time.

    • Brian Russelburg says:

      Thanks Mike, as an artist I used to sit in front of an easel looking at an empty piece of drawing paper, I always made sure I had Yes music on my Ipod. It somehow freed me up because of that beautiful strangeness of the music. Ironically Roger Deans work had that same feel. I remember hearing once that Roger didn’t listen to the music until after “Tales from Topographic Oceans” but the I can’t ever remember any art more fitting to the music in my life. Would Yes be what they were without Roger? Not quite. Would Roger be what he was without Yes? Not quite. A perfect marriage of sound and sight made for each other. Thanks for your comment. Brian

Leave a comment